Why ArchLinux?

I did quit Ubuntu for multiple reasons, first I was sick of installing million of PPA for my project, I also didn’t like having unity as desktop, since I’m a huge fan of i3desktop. I went for arch because I liked the Pacman package manager and all the Aur package that you can get from it, arch has a great community and is always up to date, so if there’s a problem, 1 hours later, it’s fixed by the community and everyone is back on the track. I Also feel like arch is kind of a new challenge, learning new things make you understand why things are the way they are, yes I agree it’s more difficult and you can get issues from it, but it doesn’t matter since fixing issues is our job, we’re programmers.

It’s easy they said… after 20 trial

Installing arch Linux is truly a deep pain! There is no installation setup like every other distro and if a step doesn’t work, don’t dare skipping it, really, I mean it won’t work if you skip any step in the installation process. At first you’ll be pissed off when you will get errors because you won’t understand anything of what you’re doing, but after a couple of hours trying, you’ll get used to it and understand what’s happening then like one of my friends told me, if you get used to arch, you’re used to all Linux distro, so don’t worry about crying while installation process. When you’ll be done with the installation, you’ll be proud of yourself, and after that the process will look much more simpler!

Well… is it good?

So after that is arch worth to install… the answer is yes for sure, because arch is a very powerful distro, and while installing it I’ve learned a lot of stuff, while the install arch makes you play in specific setting that makes you understand part of Linux config, and like my other friend was saying, installing arch make you love crying! also, there’s a lot of features that I didn’t try yet that I’m thrilled to discover, so yes it’s a great distro!

Time to install ArchLinux!

This series of video is really helpful if you are willing to install arch Linux, also he doesn’t tell it in the video, but if you’re on wi-fi, it’s great to install “dialog” + “netctl” once the installation is done while you’re still chroot in /mnt, or else you won’t be able to connect to wifi after that.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

